Growing Up

One of the biggest things that I had been thinking through in the time leading up to this blog was the fact that I’m growing up. I’m 18 years old. I live in a city that’s hundreds of miles away from my parents and hometown, and I’m about to finish my freshman year of college. It’s time for me to start making the decisions that will impact my future. Impact my career, impact my future family, impact who I am as a person. 

Earlier tonight, I had a really cool heart to heart with one of my good guy friends. During the conversation he talked about his relationship with his girlfriend, and how he is already making decisions that will impact their future together. Listening to him talk, I was astounded by the maturity with which he was talking about his future. He already knew what he wanted, and was using his goals to shape the way that he viewed the world today.

In all honesty, listening to him speak at the beginning of our conversation freaked me out a bit. Here my friend was, the same guy I had seen laughing hysterically at a picture of Rachel McAdams holding a Chipotle Burrito fifteen minutes earlier, making decisions and creating relationships based on where he would be almost ten years from now. It was unexpected, and it sparked a whirlwind of thoughts in my mind.

One of these thoughts was about relationships. Stupid, I know. But listening to the way that he talked about his girlfriend, and hearing the emotion and love that he has for her in his voice made me want that for myself. 

I’m 18 years old and I’ve never had a boyfriend. Out of my entire friend group, I am the only one who has never had a relationship. Normally, I’m fine with this. I understand that timing varies for different people, and that some great guy or a few great guys will come along at certain points and walks of life. But sometimes, waiting for these relationships sucks. Even though I don’t feel much pressure to be in a relationship, it’d be nice to have someone there. 

But at the same time, it’s important for me to remember that my time will come. It’s okay to lag behind others in this regard, because that hopefully means that whoever comes along will be freaking awesome. So I must wait patiently for that time, whether I’ll meet him tomorrow or next week, or I’ve been friends with him for years or a few months. He’ll come. I just have to be patient, and be okay with being patient until then.

Leave a Reply

