Proverbs 31

Proverbs 31 has always been a great reminder of the kind of woman that I want to become. And looking at the verses again, I realize that I lot of them relate to topics that I want to improve about myself. I think a better way of going about this is taking a verse and working on that each week or so. 

This week is verse 25. It says “She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future.” It’s funny how perfectly that verse describes the week that I’m having.

A few days ago, one of my good friends asked me something that resonated deep within my heart. While talking about our future careers, he asked “How do you plan to change the world for the better through business?” The thing that freaked me out, was that I struggled to come up with an answer. Thinking, I realized that every way that I hope to impact the world is completely unrelated to the career that I will be spending 8-10 hours at a day for the rest of my life. 

Long story short, this conversation got me thinking. Later that day, we’d also talked about how it had been my dream to be a teacher until about a year ago. After thinking through our conversation, I realized that I still want to pursue this dream. And I’m going to–by applying to be a member of Teach for America.

When I told my mom this, she was immediately skeptical. “You expect to live on a teacher’s salary for two years and then be able to find a good job afterwards?” And to be honest, she’s right. It won’t be easy to make that transition. But I have to remember that  Proverbs 31 woman laughs without fear of her future. God will bring me through it with his own plan and timing, and that’s what’s important.

Now back to the part about strength and dignity. Easy–I need to be able to be strong, even when I’m hurting, and I need to clothe myself with dignity, to show that I am the bigger person. It will be really hard. Especially when it seems like he doesn’t care, and his comments come out sporadically when I am least expecting them. But I can do it. I can be the bigger person. Only seven more days.

Leave a Reply

