82 Days

So I calculated it out. There are 82 days left until I leave Phoenix again to start my sophomore year at USC. Though I don’t actually start school until August 25th, I have a few obligations (new job training, moving into a new apartment, exchange student host orientation) that require me to be at school a little earlier. Though I’ll be missing out on the end of my summer, I am 100 percent okay with this. I really do love spending time with all of my friends and family at home, but I’ve found that my life at SC is somewhat more…interesting than my life here. At school, I’m challenged more by my friends and professors, and I’ve found that these challenges have made my grow in maturity, intelligence, and interest in topics that I had never previously considered to be important. This fall, I’ll be starting classes for my new minor, I’ll have a new job, and I’ll be living in an apartment with three of my closest friends. I’ll be looking for internships and getting more involved in the USC community to see what I can do to leave my mark before I graduate.

Even though I am anxiously waiting for this next semester, I know that there is still a lot to be done in my life before I leave. Over the last few weeks, I’ve compiled a list of a few things that I want to accomplish this summer.

1. Read, read, read–This semester, I only read through about three books that were not school related. This summer, with all of my free time, I want to make sure that I am spending it wisely, not just reading, but reading books that will impact the way that I see the world and the people in it.

2. Be Healthier–It’s really hard to be healthy in my home. The food that my family eats is often filled with lots of salt, few fruits vegetables, and unhealthier meats. This summer, I’m going to take the initiative to make sure that what goes in my body is healthier. I’ve also made a vow to myself that I’m going to work out for two Friends episodes every day (the elliptical happens to be placed perfectly in front of the television). There are a few pounds that I can shed, and a few pounds of muscle that I should really work on getting back.

3. Continue this blog–I still have a ton of ways in which I could be a better person, and ways that I feel as if I can hold myself to a higher standard. By reflecting about them, I have found that I am able to clarify my thoughts more and take better notice of what I need to do, and what I can do to grow.

4. My Appearance–I wouldn’t consider myself a slob, but I find it really easy to have lazy days far too often. This summer, I’m going to do my best to work on my appearance, so that it will be easier when I start working and having professional internships.

5. Time management–It’s so easy for me to sleep in later and later each day. That’s not happening this summer. I’m going to make sure that I’m up and out of bed by 10am, and ready for the day by 11 latest.

As of now–that’s it. I’m sure more things will come up along the way, but these are the most important. I can’t wait to look back at this post come August, and will hopefully see a huge change in how far I’ve come.

Leave a Reply

